Autumn Sunset over Hastings Castle. By Jennifer Baird

VGS Retreat (November 2021)

Since March 2020, Matt & Shannon Heaton have gathered Irish musicians together on YouTube for moderately-paced Irish tunes and upbeat conversation.

Inspired by the warmth and welcome of this global community, the Heatons produced two online “Retreat” concerts in November 2021. 
 
The FLUTE CONCERT was a highlight of the weekend with Jean-Michel Veillon, Louise Mulcahy, Conal Ó Gráda, Hatao & Nami, Ivan Goff, and Shannon Heaton. For folks who could not be part of this live Zoom event, we have assembled a video of the concert, editing out or blurring all instances of on-screen audience members to protect privacy.

VGS Retreat

Duos on Zoom took place Nov 12/13, 2021

 Fri Nov 12, 8:30-10pm Boston EVE
= Sat Nov 13, 10:30am-Noon Tokyo MORN

Featuring:

Laura Fedderson & Nathan Gourley (U.S., fiddles & guitar)
Hatao & Nami (Japan, flute & harp)
Faliq Auri & Sher Ly (Malaysia, flute, pipes, concertina)
Matt & Shannon Heaton (Flute & Guitar, BOSTON)
Soomee Han & Yoonjeong Nam (S. Korea, harp & bodhran)

Flutes on Zoom took place Nov 13, 2021

Saturday Nov 13, 8:30-10am Boston MORN
= Sat Nov 13, 1:30pm Ireland AFTERNOON
= Sat Nov 13, 10:30pm Tokyo EVE

Featuring:

Louise Mulcahy (Ireland)
Conal Ó Gráda (Ireland)
Hatao/Tomoaki Hatakeyama (Japan)
Ivan Goff (U.S./Ireland)

We finished with our “Normal” SATURDAY SESSION

Saturday Nov 13, 2pm Boston
Online Irish music and community.
Free for everybody.